Imma book whore

Just another WordPress.com site

Mastering Color Knitting by Melissa Leapman #6

I almost forgot that I could include non-fiction titles in my journey to kicking ass on the book challenge. A pleasant surprise!

I received a Chapter’s gift card from my wonderful mom this past Christmas (hey mom, thanks again) and was giddy to spend it. We did go into the actual store, but I’m not good at buying books on a whim anymore. It creates clutter in my house and if I’m not likely to read the book again, I consider the purchase a waste of good book buying potential. So I left it unspent and waited to purchase online, where I could see reviews and decide if a book is worth it to have as a keeper. I had to decide what to buy, and frankly I was stumped as my first thought zipped to fictional books. I’m more into borrowing those things from the library anyway, so why buy?

Then a light bulb went off. I am constantly on the look out for new knitting ideas and patterns and to print them out from the internet is a waste of paper if I don’t use the pattern, so why not buy a whole book full of paper with the potential of waste!

No,not really.

I scoured Chapters for knitting books, and then took the time to read about each in user reviews. If it got poor reviews, even those from beginner knitters not understanding the patterns, I didn’t buy it. So there began the hunt for some good knitting books. I found 3, and this was the first one I picked up to read.

As an avid knitter, color changes didn’t frighten me, but they did seem a bit daunting and I held back from trying patterns that called for a them. Part of the reason is because I don’t much like weaving in ends. As a knitting whore, I’m open to knitting with acrylic as opposed to just wool, or other animal fibers, yet acrylic isn’t great for end weaving because of how slippery the fibers are. Ends slip out very easily so I avoided changing colors.

Until I read Mastering Color Knitting by Melissa Leapman that is. The author doesn’t only tell you the information, but also shows you in clear pictures. The information doesn’t just cover the change of color but also how to read the pattern properly for regular knitting and circle knitting, as well as how to weave ends, strand the yarn and do little fix ups for common errors.

So here’s the final tally. I’d definitely be able to scrounge up 8 G-String Dollars for this 176 page book.  It is that easy to read and really takes the fear out of it.  The reason I gave it less than full cash is because, like many other yarn books, the patterns included are knit with basically the most expensive wool they could possibly find.  That only means that when you go to knit up those patterns with your much more reasonably priced yarn, it won’t fill out the same or look like the picture. Drives me bonkers and I’d like authors to retry their own patterns with what you can find in the department store aisles rather than hand dyed wool from some obscure, yet expensive hub in the middle of nowhere.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

