Imma book whore

Just another WordPress.com site

Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan #12

Personally I’m not much into zombies. I just do not see the pull I guess, but it has to have its place amongst the shelves in the YA section packed full of vampires. I spotted this along side The Daughter of Smoke and Bone on a display shelf at my library and grabbed them both after a quick perusal of the gist of each story.  320 pages of zombies, well I wasn’t really sure I wanted to read it, but again, the female protagonist drew me in.

I was pleasantly surprised. Seriously, I thought I was going to be gored out more and have nightmare stuff, which makes me wonder why I picked up the thing in the first place. I am one that hates scary movies. I watched Signs and almost peed my pants, and then had nightmares for weeks. Frickin, that’s not supposed to be a really scary movie, but I am totally just chicken shit.

Anyway, it did have points of … anticipation, perhaps even apprehension, but not fear. I did want to smack some non-zombied dudes around, but that’s about it. It was an interesting story of struggle among the leftover peoples of post-apocolyptic zombieland. I was intrigued many a time and it kept me reading. At first the book didn’t capture my attention, and I’m not sure if it’s from the content or just a slow start, and it’s been more than 5 minutes since I put the book down. It took me a couple of tries to really get into it. I even read another book along side, and that’s how I know it hasn’t grabbed me instantly. It got better, like The Help did, and I did end up enjoying it.

I would recommend it, possibly to buy, but in the used section, or just paperback.

Ok, for the Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, I’d give it 6 G-String dollars. It tickled my whatsit, but wouldn’t earn enough to drop my pants. It will, however, entice me to look up and read the sequels I just found out about on Carrie’s site and see if any of those spark my whoreness.

God I can be sick.

grin

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

